Delete assets

You can delete assets that are discovered through Aurora Vulnerability Management (Aurora VM) scans if you do not want them to appear in the Assets page.

Alternatively, you can mark a device as inactive until it appears in a future scan, see Mark assets as inactive.

Deleting an asset permanently removes it from the Assets page. When an asset is deleted, associated risks on the Risks page are marked as Resolved.

Note: Make sure that you complete all prerequisite actions before deleting an asset. Skipping prerequisite actions can have unintended consequences, including future scans detecting risks on deleted assets.

To restore a deleted asset, you must contact your Concierge Security® Team (CST).

These actions are required:
  1. Configure these scan sources to exclude the asset:
  2. If the scan source is Agent, uninstall Arctic Wolf Agent from the endpoint:
  3. For EVA scanners and offline Agents, only proceed with deleting the asset after receiving confirmation from your CST.
Note: When Agent is uninstalled from an asset, one of these actions occurs:
  • If the asset had only Agent as a Source:
    • The Asset State automatically changes to Inactive.
    • The Status of all associated risks changes to Resolved.

    Inactive assets are automatically deleted 120 days after their Last Seen date, but you can manually delete inactive assets if you don't want to wait.

  • If the asset had more than one Source, for example, Agent, IVA, and DHCP:
    • Agent is no longer listed as a Source on the Asset page and the Asset State does not change.
    • The Status of all risks associated with the Agent remains unchanged.

    If you do not delete this asset after uninstalling Agent, then you must manually set the State of risks associated with the uninstalled Agent to Accepted or Mitigated so that the risks do not impact your Risk Exposure Score.

  1. Sign in to the Arctic Wolf Unified Portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Data Collection > Assets.
  3. For each asset that you want to delete, select the checkbox.
  4. Click Delete Assets.
  5. Click Delete Asset.