Zones that are used for update policy assignment
Zones that are only used for assigning update policies, and not device policies, can be recreated in any order. However, you must make sure the update policies are ranked accordingly so that if a device is a member of more than one zone with different update policies, the higher-ranked update policy is applied. You need to replace the zones assigned to update policies with the new zones.
You can easily identify whether a zone is assigned to an update policy from the Zones page. If the checkbox beside a zone is greyed-out, then it is currently assigned to an update policy. You are prevented from deleting the zone as long as it is assigned to an update policy.
- Go to the Settings > Updates page and document which update policy each zone is assigned to. Each zone can be assigned to one update policy only.
- Recreate the zones. If the zones are also used for device policy assignment, make sure to first create them in a specific order.
- Assign each new zone to an appropriate update policy. You can assign them to the same update policy if the new zone is the equivalent of the original zone. You can also create new update policies, rank them, and assign the zones accordingly. If the original zones are not used for any other purpose, you can delete them.